Deleting the content of chat input control.....

Deleting the content of chat input control.....

Postby tom on Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:03 pm

Since Rel. 1.72 the line is not cleared when pressing ESC. This is usfull to heal and finish the line after that, for example.

But what's about you want to delete what you wrote so far and don't want to press Backspace several times?

Usually the cursor is on the end of the line so press shift + home and everything is marked. Now you can type in the new content or press backspace one time to erase everything.
Last edited by tom on Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tom
Site Admin
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:50 am

Postby Happy_G on Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:04 pm

also hitting the down arrow gives a clear line to type in
Happy_G
Dorglade Elf
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:18 am
Location: Renavale silver/gold mines and Jeweler area

Postby Icy on Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Ctrl Home doesn't work on mine but Shift home does :)



__Icy__ :D
User avatar
Icy
Snaky
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Where the wind takes me

Postby tom on Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:58 pm

ups yes it's shift ;)
tom
Site Admin
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:50 am

Postby Inthra on Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:30 pm

Up/down arrow used to cycle through history. Are those controls remapped elsewhere? It is taking time to get used to esc not clearing text, but is much nicer for typing and playing to try to work together
Inthra
Young Lizard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 4:23 pm
Location: Phoenix Arizona (United States)

Postby Happy_G on Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:02 pm

up and down still cycles through chat history pushing down at the end gives you a new line, pushing up also gives you a new line, if you hit enter w/o typing to close the chat box it takes that as a line of chat history (from what i can tell) so sometimes you have to hit up arrow a few times to get to that last thing you said.
Happy_G
Dorglade Elf
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:18 am
Location: Renavale silver/gold mines and Jeweler area

Postby SharkBait on Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:04 am

I have had a problem lately..(which may have a simple solution that I am missing)..

I typed some stuff and realised i had put on wrong channel (was a pm actually). I realised before hitting ENTER ..But I pressed the ESC key and the chat line dissapeared... To get the chat line back (to delete the text by the above method..or backspace) I have to hit enter again..But this actually sent the erroneous PM. I aslo made this mistake on a channel (general instead of Market).

Can the chat line be brought up without hitting ENTER?
SharkBait
Grumfish
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Sue on Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:51 am

SharkBait wrote:
Can the chat line be brought up without hitting ENTER?


In Option / Controls you could map an other key to enable the chat.
Map this key twice and "enter" will disabled then.
User avatar
Sue
Dorglade Elf
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:25 am

Postby Majo on Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:40 pm

Ctrl-u works for me.
Majo
Leopard
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Inthra on Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:08 am

Since the last big update, both up and down arrow only clear the chatline; it does not begin to scroll through previousely typed lines nor can I get back to a line that was just erased. There does appear to be a limit of uparrow presses erasing; it limits as if recalling previous text and stops as if counting through lines of history.
This is on freebsd with linux abi with libraries libSDL.so -> /compat/linux/usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0 (which points to (libSDL-1.2.so.0.7.3) libopenal.so -> /usr/compat/linux/usr/lib/libopenal.so.0.0.0
Inthra
Young Lizard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 4:23 pm
Location: Phoenix Arizona (United States)


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron